Our Staff

We have built an enthusiastic and hugely committed team at Halterworth. We appoint talented staff when the opportunity arises, to bring new skills and opportunities for our children. We support all staff to achieve outstanding outcomes and provide rich professional development opportunities to be the best they can be in their role.

The school has been led by Jo Cottrell since 2005. In her role as Executive Headteacher she is responsible for the overall strategic direction and success of the school. As a National Leader in Education (NLE), Jo has been selected by the Department for Education to support and advise other leaders in their roles. Jo is supported by a strong leadership team who are led by two highly skilled Assistant Headteachers.

Phil Thomas has grown through the ranks of Halterworth as a popular teacher to become Assistant Headteacher with particular responsibility for ‘Performance and Pupil Voice’. Jayne Fahey joined Halterworth in 2011, bringing a wealth of experience from schools in challenging circumstances. As Assistant Headteacher she takes particular responsibility for ‘Curriculum and Professional Development & currently Science’.

Our school is organised in teams as follows:

Early Years:

Led by Helen Cater, who prior to starting a career in education  was a senior HR officer & consultant for large national companies. She has also acted as Supervisor to the Wellow Under Fives Pre School, where she was responsible for all aspects of day to day management. Having taught through all of Key Stage 1 at Halterworth, Helen joined Year R in 2011 and is looking forward to strengthening the great team in Early Years.

Year 1 & 2 Team:

Led by Debbie Mayo, who is also our ‘Lead Teacher for Inclusion.’ Previously, a senior teacher in a successful city school, Mrs Mayo joined Halterworth in 2010 and also runs the school KS1 choir.

Year 3 & 4 Team:

Currently led by Lorraine Pattinson, who is seconded from Wellow Primary School, to lead our Schools Direct Teacher Training Programme. As a previously nominated county Advanced Skills teacher (AST), Lorraine also takes whole school responsibility for English.

Year 5 & 6 Team

Led by Jenny Ware, a long standing member of the Halterworth team, who has taken whole school responsibility for maths for many years. Mrs Ware also takes responsibility for transition to secondary school and has supported many children through the final assessments before leaving primary school.

Other key leaders are:

Executive Inclusion Leader

Jenny Kittley-Davies is a qualified Special Needs Coordinator who takes particular responsibility for pupils with additional educational needs. Supported by the Lead teacher for Inclusion, she ensures that as a school we do all that we can to ensure that every child makes superb progress.

The School Admin Manager

Alison Tanner is responsible for the day to day administrative service that we offer to our pupils and parents. Supported by a friendly and efficient team of Mrs Gray and Mrs Welch, Mrs Tanner is committed to ensuring that the first contact you may have with our school is courteous, helpful and welcoming.